Home » Uncategorized » Hide and Seek

Hide and Seek

Within the shroud of darkness
A cold breath steals the last
While the grieving feel the rain
And cannot find a sheltered rest

Little Jack with vision speaks
To PawPaw who is coming

Small and stealthy Jack
Peers around a post
With sparkling eyes
And giddy squeaks
Pawpaw’s playing
down the hall

Joining him, he rushes
Leaps into the lap
of the empty chair
Where PawPaw’s reading
Echoes in his ears

In the light that scatters
While dusty angels twirl
Jack can play with PawPaw still
And hear his laugh and song

The child can see what we cannot
The child can know what we doubt
There is no room
Where PawPaw is not found

In the gilded halls of Heavens Home
Laughter’s heard
While Daddy’s running, hiding, waiting
To play another game with me
Of Hide and Seek

-Dan E Mason

“Then as I looked, I saw a door standing open in heaven, and the same voice I had heard before spoke to me like a trumpet blast. The voice said, “Come up here, and I will show you what must happen after this.” – Revelation 4:1

Leave a comment